No-Boil Mushroom Lasagna Review

As prepared, this lasagna was OK.  It was a little dry and not as packed with flavor as I would have liked.  I found it hard to stretch the ricotta cheese mixture as far as it was supposed to go and I was also concerned that the lasagna wasn’t going to fit in the 8 x 8 dish, height wise, as the mushrooms really make it thick; however, once baked, the mushrooms shrunk down some and there was no toppling within the oven, as I had feared.

I don’t want anyone to be turned off by my review though because I do believe this was a pretty decent dish.  It yields 4 nice-sized portions and, with a few improvements, I could see this becoming a regular dish in my home!  To tackle to dryness, I would add just a little bit of fresh sauce to each layer.  (I’m thinking somewhere between 1/4 cup & 1/2 cup per layer.)   I understand that we are trying to keep caloric intake down and make every bite count, nutritionally, but a little fresh sauce isn’t going to add that much damage to the numbers and I think it would make the world of difference to the recipe.  The truth is, if the sauce is made right, this will also solve the flavor-lacking dilemma, as well!

I will make this again with my sauce revamp and let you all know how it comes out.  Happy Eating!

About formerfatbitch

I'm a former fat bitch on the path towards becoming a healthy bitch and I'm taking everyone along for the ride with me so saddle up!
This entry was posted in Recipe Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

