Quick Gumbo Review

Another short, sweet and to the point review for you…

Personally, I love this one! I think it has simple but strong flavor.  I can eat an entire serving without feeling too full, which we all know can sometimes happen after WLS, but I am thoroughly satisfied and am not searching for something else to eat in two hours.  It’s also very true to its title: QUICK!  Sure it may take a few minutes to chop & dice the veggies but, after that, it’s basically an “add this, simmer, add that, simmer, add this, eat” recipe.

Here’s what’s better!  I have fed this to a few people who don’t have the low standards I have come to accept due to my dietary restrictions and they have also been fans!  My friend Tommy said he couldn’t believe this was a “diet” recipe and my boyfriend, who claims he HATES gumbo, just inhaled the entire oversized bowl I served him as I typed this.

MY TWEAKS:

  • No okra – neither one of us cares for okra very much so I omit it.  Even though I am omitting the okra, I do not reduce the amount of any of the liquids.  I think the gumbo thickens up just fine, as is.
  • SPICE!  We like it spicy so I double the Cheyenne pepper.
  • MORE SPICE!  As I said, we really like it spicy so I also add my favorite hot sauce, Sriracha, when I add the crushed tomatoes and the chicken broth.  I eyeball mine but, if I had to guess, I probably add about 1 tablespoon.  Then, I leave the individual eater to add more upon serving… I always add another teaspoon or two to mine!  I just can’t get enough Sriracha!!!

The recipe is supposed to yield 4 servings so it’s more than enough to feed the family for dinner.  I like to double batch it so I have it for lunch and dinner the next day or two, as well.

Let me know what you think after you make it…

About formerfatbitch

I'm a former fat bitch on the path towards becoming a healthy bitch and I'm taking everyone along for the ride with me so saddle up!
This entry was posted in Recipe Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

