Slow-Cooked Sausage & Lentil Stew Review

Alright so allow me to give you some back story on the three reasons I chose to make this specific dish from one of my weight-loss surgery cookbooks:

  1. It’s a slow-cooker recipe and anyone that knows me knows I cannot live without my slow-cooker!  If I could marry it, I would, because it is the perfect partner for my busy, fast-paced, always on-the-move behind!
  2. The picture, yes the picture, looks amazing!  Every time I would flip through it to get to my meatloaf recipe, I would see this hearty & delicious looking stew staring me in the face…
  3. The most comical of all, if you ask me: Cafe World!  That’s right, ladies & gentlemen.  I, Former Fat Bitch, am addicted to playing Cafe World through Facebook.  Well, let me tell you, after awhile, all the recipes and names of the dishes seem to streamline together into task after task but, there are always those few that stick out or that you use as “markers” in your gift box.  Sausage & lentil stew is a “marker” for me so, every time I see it, I am reminded of reason 2 all over again.

And so here we are… Football Sunday and no motivation to cook!  WAIT!  I threw in that stew yesterday afternoon with the knowledge that I would be in this very predicament tonight, while I continue to work on the new, smaller ass print I am working into my couch, watching The Good Wife.  And with that realization, I drug my ass to the kitchen and warmed myself up a bowl.

Ladies & Gentlemen, we have a winner!  This stew is so hearty, so flavorful and absolutely perfect for the fall & winter seasons.  When I was making it, the lemon threw me off a bit but it actually adds a slight citrus undertone to the dish that would leave it amiss without.  The only thing I felt it was lacking was SALT.  Truthfully, I am not a huge lover of salt but, when it comes to thick soups, like split pea, or a hearty beef stew, I need it!  With the addition of a little fresh cracked black pepper, which I can never get enough of, and some coarse sea salt, I am entertaining an orgasm in my mouth as I write this review…

About formerfatbitch

I'm a former fat bitch on the path towards becoming a healthy bitch and I'm taking everyone along for the ride with me so saddle up!
This entry was posted in Recipe Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

