Turkey Meat Loaf Review

I don’t know about the rest of you but I grew up on meat loaf, mashed potatoes and, usually, corn or green beans at least once a week!  Here’s the thing… I make almost everything with ground turkey instead of ground beef because I truthfully prefer the taste of ground turkey and, of course, because it’s leaner than beef, too.  Of course, like anyone who loves food and cooking and then eating the food that they’ve cooked, I have also experimented with recipes here and there.  Sometimes they turn out great and sometimes… well, sometimes Chinese food ends up being delivered after you’ve dumped the entire dish into the trash can!

I can’t begin to tell you how many turkey meatloaf recipes I’ve tried in my lifetime.  I’ve tried taking my delicious ground beef recipe and just substituting turkey. I’ve tried making a half turkey/half beef loaf before.  I’ve tried making recipes that specifically targeted ground turkey as the main ingredient.  In all that trying, I never once found a turkey meatloaf that made me say, “Mmmm”.  Either it came so dry you needed a swig of your beverage after every bite or it came so watery and loose that you couldn’t slice it and serve it, like a real meat loaf should be done.  I mean, who wants meat crumbles?  Not me.

Needless to say, I was extremely leery in trying this new recipe, too.  The ingredients were a little “off” and, I don’t mean no harm but, what American tops their loaf with mustard?  Really?  Mustard?  But, I’ll give anything a shot if it means I can have that home-style cooking once in awhile without the guilt to follow!  All I can say is this: Miracles Do Happen!

This meat loaf is everything I wanted it to be and more!  It was moist, it could be sliced for serving and it had flavor.  The “crust” that was nothing but ketchup & mustard was sweet but tangy; I’m so happy I went for the “optional” mustard spread on top.  Looking for a good side to go with this?  Try mashed cauliflower (for the healthier eaters) or good old-fashioned mashed potatoes!

My Rating: 5

Next week, I will be making and evaluating a reader-submitted recipe!  Can you tell I’m pumped?

About formerfatbitch

I'm a former fat bitch on the path towards becoming a healthy bitch and I'm taking everyone along for the ride with me so saddle up!
This entry was posted in Recipe Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

